Driving the Future of Meat

Join the conversation with Dr. Caroline E. Heil

Let thy food be thy medicine, and thy medicine be thy food

Most likely by not Hippocrates

I can’t remember when I’ve read the quote the first time, and I always thought it originated from Hippocrates, who lived 400 BC.

A few years ago, I stumbled over a scientific paper that concludes that this quote cannot be found in any of Hippocrates’ writings.

Growing up in a small town in rural Austria in the 70s/80s of the last century, cooking at home was the way of life, and the kids learned from example to prepare their meal. I remember the traditional Austrian everyday cuisine as rich in homegrown vegetables during the week and meat, mostly on weekends.

The first time I wanted to learn more about the impact of food on health was back in the early 90s when I spent my spare time as an ambulance man. There was one thing that I observed and didn’t understand:

The doctors in the emergency cars were mainly in their early forties, and often we transported patients of the same age with severe diseases. As I worked in my hometown - a small city amid the Austrian alps - I knew most of the people we transported and saw a bit of a difference in the habits.

The question I had: How do habits influence health long term? Especially sleep, food and exercise.

Through my training in Chinese and Japanese traditional martial arts, I got access to scientists, members of special forces, and doctors who did proper research on the impact of food on people’s health 20-30 years ago.

A lot has evolved since then - mostly silently as the digital revolution was center stage. Last year, pharma showed what the industry could accomplish by developing a novel vaccine in less than 12 months.

However, the entire food industry went through a vast evolution step and has produced many innovations.

A couple of years ago, I stumbled over Beyond Meat as the stock skyrocketed right after the IPO. The company is on a mission to improve food:

WE BELIEVE THERE’S A BETTER WAY TO FEED OUR FUTURE.

By shifting from animal to plant-based meat, we can positively affect the planet, the environment, the climate and even ourselves. After all, the positive choices we make every day – no matter how small – can have a great impact on our world.

During the pandemic, I learned more about Hellofresh who advertised to deliver high-quality food for home cooking, including recipes right to the doorstep. Initially, the use case didn’t resonate much with me, as I have been used to buying, grow and cooking my food since the 80s.

Since the stock price almost 10x within two years, I did a bit more research on the companies mission and found it remarkable:

  • Budget Helping consumers to save money with every meal

  • Freshness Democratizing access to high-quality food

  • Taste Allowing everyone to enjoy a varied and tasty diet

  • Sustainability Less food waste, C02 neutral delivery of every box

A company on a mission to improve the quality of food and similarly drive down the price. Since the Amazon case, I know that this conundrum-like “holy grail” of business models can be achieved by increasing quality at lower prices.

A lot evolved in the last twenty years, and a google search for “Trends in the food industry” produces a myriad of novel terms and sources. Many new words pop up like:

  • Alternative proteins

  • Nutraceuticals

  • Functional food

  • Reworking the supply chain

  • 3d printing of food

  • Personalized nutrition

  • Consuming on demand

  • In-tune with immune

  • ….

A fast-growing and dynamically evolving space in my eyes.

That’s why I started looking for experts who want to share their expertise in this area.

I am thrilled that

Dr. Caroline E. Heil

joins our conversation this Friday.

Caroline runs the New Meat Company in Berlin that is on a mission to

invest in game-changing companies and founders that disrupt the status quo of the meat industry to create nutritious, tasty, and sustainable meat alternatives that are good for everyone – animals, humans, and our planet.


Do you want to learn more about the Future of the Food Industry and Our Food in General?

Then join our conversation:

Register Today


Noteworthy Articles:

US takes a leadership role at UN Food Systems Summit Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack, and other representatives of the US Department of Agriculture attending the United Nations Food Systems Summit in New York on Sept. 23 highlighted several steps the United States is taking to advance the goals of ending hunger and malnutrition and building more sustainable, resilient, and inclusive food systems, including making $5 billion in additional planned domestic investments toward those ends. Read more…

No-kill, lab-grown meat to go on sale for the first time Cultured meat, produced in bioreactors without the slaughter of an animal, has been approved for sale by a regulatory authority for the first time. The development has been hailed as a landmark moment across the meat industry. Read more…

Let thy food be thy medicine….when possible Notwithstanding this, nutrition has been a central element in many traditional forms of medicine (Georgiou et al., 2011), until its role in curative medicine started to decline during the last century. Read more…


Upcoming Events:

More information and link to registration in

This Article


LISTEN TO THIS EPISODE OF THE LSG2G PODCAST HERE

What was hot and what not - in Blockchain and Life Science and other Tech Areas the speakers love.

Listen about what was going on in the world in 2020 - besides SARS CoV 2.

Speaker:
Albert Missbichler (https://www.linkedin.com/in/albert-missbichler-3a362931/)
Astrid Woollard (https://www.linkedin.com/in/astridwoollard/)
Christian Soschner (https://www.linkedin.com/in/christiansoschner/)
Elisabeth Pfneisl (https://www.linkedin.com/in/elisabeth-pfneisl-81095163/)
Gregory Mannix (https://www.linkedin.com/in/greg-mannix/)
Irina Korschineck (https://www.linkedin.com/in/irina-korschineck-35a40289/)
Jama Nateqi (https://www.linkedin.com/in/jama-nateqi/)
Julia Resch (https://www.linkedin.com/in/julia-resch/)
Kimberly Cornfield (https://www.linkedin.com/in/kimberly-cornfield-55383136/)
Klara Brandstätter (https://www.linkedin.com/in/klara-brandst%C3%A4tter-b6029491/)
Matthias Tarasiewicz (https://www.linkedin.com/in/parasew/)
Michael Browne (https://www.linkedin.com/in/michael-browne-frsa-5a616138/)
Thomas Schirrmann (https://www.linkedin.com/in/thomas-schirrmann-45a64183/)

Organizations:
Corat Therapeutics (https://www.linkedin.com/company/corat-therapeutics/)
CS Life Science Invest (https://lnkd.in/eyhWK7H)
Crowdhelix (https://www.linkedin.com/company/crowdhelix/)
Falcon Digital Investment (https://www.linkedin.com/company/falcon-digital-investments/about/)
Fianostics (https://www.fianostics.at/en/home/)
IECT Hermann Hauser (https://www.linkedin.com/company/iect-hermann-hauser)
Ingenetix (https://www.ingenetix.com/en/home/)
Life Science Nation (https://www.linkedin.com/company/life-science-nation/)
RIAT - Research Institute for Future Cryptoeconomics  (https://riat.at/)
Symptoma (https://www.linkedin.com/company/symptoma/)
UCL (https://www.linkedin.com/school/university-college-london/)
Vienna Stock Exchange (https://www.linkedin.com/company/wiener-borse-ag/)
Yumab (https://www.linkedin.com/company/yumab-gmbh/)

LISTEN TO THIS EPISODE OF THE LSG2G PODCAST HERE


Community Partner:

These companies make the community, this newsletter, and the LSG2G Podcast possible, so go check them out and thank them for their support!

Partner Links


You are receiving the LSG2G-Letter because you either signed up or attended one of the events organized by LSG2G. Feel free to unsubscribe if you aren’t finding this valuable.

Nothing in this email is intended to serve as financial advice. Do your own research.